Board and Committees

Meet the teams that do the behind-the-scenes work for the Ostomy Canada Society

Our Mission:

Ostomy Canada Society is a non-profit volunteer organization dedicated to all people with an ostomy, and their families, helping them to live life to the fullest through support, education, collaboration and advocacy.

Our Vision:

Canada’s voice for people living with an ostomy.

Live Life to the Fullest!

Meet Our Board of Directors

Here is our current Executive and Board of Directors for 2017/2018

Ann Ivol


Ann Ivol

Hamilton, ON


Sharon Deaves

  Halton Hills, ON


To Be Appointed


To Be Appointed



Steve Maybee

Mississauga, ON

Peter Folk

Vice Chair

Peter Folk

Saskatoon, SK



Andrea Leard
 Vancouver, BC


Andréanne Gousse
Saint-Georges, QC


To be appointed


Karen Bruton
 North Saanich, BC


To be appointed

Meet Our Regional Administrators


Pacific Region

Debra Rooney

Vancouver, BC


Prairie Region

Deb Carpentier

Regina, SK

Ontario Region

To be appointed

Quebec Region

Jude Ruest

Laterriere, QC


Atlantic Region

Ann Durkee

Hebron, NS

Meet Our Committees

Here is the structure of the committees that fall under our Five Strategic Plan Pillars


GOVERNANCE - Administrator: Karen Bruton

By-laws and PrivacyEd TummersCarol Wells
Ian MacNeil (Privacy Officer)
MembershipEd TummersRegional Administrators
National OfficeSteve MaybeeAnn Ivol
Carole Pew (Office Coordinator)
Diana Laye (Office Assistant)
Policies &
To be appointedTo be appointed
Strategic Planning / Annual Operational
Executive CommitteeBoard of Directors
Office staff

FINANCE & FUNDRAISING - Administrator: Sharon Deaves

FinanceSteve MaybeeExecutive Committee
Fundraising / Stoma StrollAnn Ivol
Andrea Manson
Steve Maybee
Peter Folk
Andrea Leard
Christine MacCallum
InsuranceSteve MaybeeAndrew Borrill

ADVOCACY - Administrator: To be appointed

Disability Tax CreditAnn DurkeeAnn Ivol, Ostomy Canada
Joan Peddle, ET
Kathy Esligar, ET
Rosemary Hill, Presdient of CAET
Elaine Jeffery, Ostomy Canada
Ian MacNeil, ,Ostomy Canada
Murray Wolfe, Ostomy Canada
Peter Folk, Ostomy Canada
AdvocacyIan MacNeilPeter Folk
Ann Ivol
Ann Durkee
Cathy Harley
Rosemary Hill
Kim LeBlanc
Denise Nicholson
Joan Peddle
Kathy Esligar
Michele Langille
Rosemary Hill
Ruth Kenney
Lana Mah
Kevin Tazier
Sherrie Bishop
International RelationsJanet Paquet (NCACOA Vice-President)Pat Cimmeck (NCACOA Immediate Past President)
Public Awareness (includes Canada Ostomy Day & World Ostomy Day)To be appointedTo be appointed

MARKETING & COMMUNICATION - Administrator: Andrea Leard

Ostomy Canada ConnectsCarol WellsJoel Jacobson
Peter Folk
Ann Ivol
National Office
Ostomy Canada magazineLisa Gausman (Senior Editor)Julie Grzela (Assistant Editor)
Tammy Hunter (Graphics Designer)
Lorne Aronson (advertising)
Elizabeth Lindner
National Office
PublicationsTo be appointedJoel Jacobson
Andrea Manson
Social MediaPeter FolkMaureen Ghadban
Lisa Gausman
WebsitePeter FolkPeter Folk

OUTREACH (Internal) - Administrator: Andréanne Gousse

Awards (Post-Secondary and ET)Andrea MansonSteve Maybee
Ostomy Canada Youth CampCamp Administrator: Lisa GausmanJason Boyd
Carly Lindsay
Janet Paquet Quinten Clarke
Parents of Children
With an Ostomy
Corry Stewart DoroshMembers of Facebook group
Spouses and Significant Others (SASO)To be appointedAndrea Manson
Susan Hunter, RNET
Carol Meise
Visiting ProgramCo-Administrators: Deb Carpentier
Ann Durkee
Jane Wilmot, Sally Martens, Wanda Dansereau, John Molnar, Carol Wells, and Alphonsine Saulnier
Gutsy Gang Social ClubTiffany ShorsonJim Fitzgerald

OUTREACH (External) - Administrator: Andréanne Gousse

Professional Advisory Partners (Industry, Medical, Others)To be appointedBryce Weber, MD
Jo-Ann Tremblay, Rory Horstein, RD, B Ed, Julie Singer, Shabita Teja, Bryce Weber, MD, Karen Bruton RN BScN MCISc-WH CETN(C), Contacts from Hollister, ConvaTec, Salts, Coloplast & B.Braun, Current CAET President, Contacts from Crohn’s and Colitis, Colorectal Cancer Assoc., Bladder Cancer Canada (Members)

Special Committees, Task Forces and Advisory Groups - Administrator: Ann Ivol

Ostomy Navigation ProgramTo be appointedTo be appointed
Nominations and Elections CommitteeSharon DeavesIan MacNeil, Ann Ivol, Karen Bruton, and Ann Durkee