Board & Committees

Meet the teams that do the behind-the-scenes work for the Ostomy Canada Society


Our Mission:

Ostomy Canada Society is a non-profit volunteer organization dedicated to all people with an ostomy, and their families, helping them to live life to the fullest through support, education, collaboration and advocacy.

Our Vision:

Canada’s voice for people living with an ostomy.

Live Life to the Fullest!

Meet Our Board of Directors

Here is our current Executive and Board of Directors for 2016/2017

Ann St Louis3

Ann Ivol


Hamilton, ON

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Carol Wells


Mount Pearl, NL

Steve Maybee

Steve Maybee


Mississauga, ON

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Andrew Borrill


Paradise, NL

Debra Terryberry

Debra Terryberry


Smithville, ON

Ostomy Canada Small Logo




Meet Our Regional Directors

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Pacific Region

Debra Rooney

Vancouver, BC

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Atlantic Region

Ann Durkee

Yarmouth, NS

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Prairie Region

Deb Carpentier

Regina, SK

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Ontario Region

Jim Fitzgerald

Mississauga, ON

Ostomy Canada Small Logo

Quebec Region

Jude Ruest

Pointe aux Trembles, QC

Meet Our Committees

Here is the structure of the committees that fall under our Five Strategic Plan Pillars


GOVERNANCE - Administrator: Andrew Borrill

By-lawsEd TummersCarol Wells
Lorrie Pismenny
MembershipAndrea MansonDebra Terryberry
Jim Fitzgerald
National OfficeSteve MaybeeAnn Ivol
Carole Pew
Nominations &
Ann IvolVacant
Policies &
Andrew BorrillRosemary Gaffray
Debra Terryberry
Strategic Planning / Annual Operational
Executive CommitteeBoard of Directors
Office staff
PrivacyIan MacNeilVacant

FINANCE & FUNDRAISING - Administrator: Steve Maybee

FinanceSteve MaybeeExecutive Committee
Fundraising / Stoma StrollAndrea MansonJim Fitzgerald
Lisa Gausman
Steve Maybee
Janet Paquet
Mike Paquet
Jason Boyd
Peter Folk
Funds AdvisorySteve MaybeeAndrew Borrill
InsuranceSteve MaybeeAndrew Borrill

ADVOCACY - Administrator: Jim Fitzgerald

AdvocacyJim FitzgeraldLorrie Pismenny
Ian MacNeil
Advocacy Task ForceJim FitzgeraldAndrea Manson
Ann Ivol
Catherine Harley
Denise Nicholson
Ian MacNeil
Joan Peddle
Kathy Esligar
Kathy Mutch
Ken Hayward
Kim Leblanc
Lana Mah
Lisa Gausman
Lorrie Pismenny
Pat Cimmeck
Paulo Da Rosa
Ruth Kenney
Peter Folk
Conference 2016Conference Administrator 2016: VacantConference Chair: Lorrie Pismenny
Chapter Outreach Support Services (COSS) (Formerly called District Support Services (DSS))VacantVacant (Pacific Coordinator)
Gerard Dakiniewich (Prairies Coordinator)
Richard Olley (North Ontario Coordinator)
Roger Ivol (South-Central Ontario Coordinator)
Vacant (South-Western Ontario Coordinator)
Vacant (Quebec Coordinator)
Vacant (Atlantic Coordinator)
Vacant (Newfoundland & Labrador Coordinator)
Visiting ProgramRoger Ivol
International RelationsPat CimmeckLisa Gausman
Public Awareness (includes Canada Ostomy Day & World Ostomy Day)Andrea MansonLorrie Pismenny
Carol Wells

MARKETING & COMMUNICATION - Administrator: Debra Terryberry

Ostomy Canada ConnectsCarol WellsJoel Jacobson
Lorrie Pismenny
National Office
Ostomy Canada magazineLisa GausmanElizabeth Lindner
Lorne Aronson (advertising)
Tammy Hunter (graphics editor)
National Office
PublicationsDebra TerryberryJoel Jacobson
Andrea Manson
Social Media / WebsitePeter FolkAndrea Manson
Lisa Gausman
Maureen Ghadban

OUTREACH - Administrator: Andrea Manson

AwardsLorrie PismennyAnn Ivol
Parents of Children
With an Ostomy
Corry Stewart Dorosh
Kathy Hedin
Professional Advisory Partners
(Industry, Medical, Other)
Andrea MansonJo-Ann Tremblay
Rory Hornstein RD
Julie Singer
Shabita Teja
Karen Bruton RN BScN MCISc-WH CETN(C)
Contacts from Hollister, ConvaTec, Coloplast and Salts
Current CAET President
Contacts from Crohn's and Colitis,
Colorectal Cancer Assoc., Bladder Cancer Canada, etc.
Ostomy Canada Youth CampCamp Administrator: Pat CimmeckLisa Gausman
Karen Spencer
Jason Boyd
20/40 and Online CommunityVacantVacant
Visiting ProgramRoger Ivol
BursaryRosemary GaffrayAndrea Manson
Steve Maybee
Lorrie Pismenny

Special Committees, Task Forces and Advisory Groups - Administrator: Ann Ivol

Governance Advisory Working GroupAndrew BorrillSteve Maybee
Ed Tummers
Representatives from Member Chapters
ADP Initiative CommitteeIan MacNeilRoger Ivol
Bob Rivard
Bruce Sinclair
Richard Olley
Paul Blais
Angela Andrews
Carol Robinson
Deb Henning
Special Ad Hoc Committee for Alberta ETsJim FitzgeraldPat Cimmeck
Lisa Gausman
Andrea Manson
Ruth Kenney
Peer Support Group Pilot Project (Volunteer Services)Ed TummersSteve Maybee
Roger Ivol
Richard Olley
Jim Fitzgerald

Nominations to Executive and Board

Elections for Officers and Directors of the Ostomy Canada Society are held annually at the National Council Meeting (AGM)