Previous Awards Recipients Listing

Maple Leaf Award

The Maple Leaf Award is the most prestigious award presented by the Ostomy Canada Society. It is awarded to a member or associate who has done outstanding volunteer service for the benefit of the Ostomy Canada Society and its members. Any member is eligible to receive this award apart from sitting national Board members. Chapters are encouraged to submit
nominations for this award. Previous recipients are:

2022 – Ed Tummers, Halifax, NS
2019 – Peter Folk, Saskatoon, SK
2016 – Joel Jacobson, Halifax, NS
2014 – Les Kehoe, Toronto, ON
2012 – Di Bracken, Toronto, ON
2010 – Pat Cimmeck, Calgary AB
2009 – Annette Weidenfeld, Yarmouth, NS
2008 – Roger Ivol, Hamilton, ON
2007 – Betty Woolridge, Halifax, N.S.
2006 – Bette Yetman, Halifax NS
2005 – Mike Woolridge, Halifax NS
2004 – Verna Petrie, New Waterford NS
2003 – David Metcalfe, Victoria BC
2002 – Judy Steeves, Fredericton NB
2001 – Jim DeGeer, Coquitlam BC
2000 – Ron Bartlett, Hamilton ON
1999 – Sheelah Zapf, Edmonton AB

Chair's Award

Chair’s ’s Award can be bestowed on any one of its members or associates. The award is presented annually to the individual, at the Annual Conference, who the President deems to have demonstrated outstanding voluntary service on behalf of the organization. The award can be presented to any member at any level of the organization or to an associate. The award cannot be shared as it carried too much importance. The award will be issued solely on the discretion of the Chair of the Board of the Ostomy Canada Society. The Executive can and may be solicited for their advice, but the final decision will rest with the Chair. He/She will make his/her selection and the name of the recipient will be held in secrecy until the time of the awards presentation at the banquet during the conference. A plaque will commemorate the event for the individual and the Chair or his/her designate will present the award.

2022 – Ian MacNeil, Ottawa, ON
2020 – Steve Maybee, Mississauga, ON
2019 – Cathy Harley, Executive Director of NSWOCC., Ottawa, ON
2016 – Ed Tummers, Halifax, NS
2014 – Lisa Gausman, Calgary, AB
2012 – Gene Zapf, Edmonton, AB
2010 – Ferne Oliver, Fredericton NB
2009 – Verna Petrie, New Waterford NS
2008 – Astrid Graham, Ottawa, ON
2007 – Les Kehoe Ottawa, ON
2006 – Lorne Aronson, Toronto ON
2005 – Judy Steeves, Fredericton, NB
2004 – Roger Ivol, Hamilton, ON
2003 – Dielwen (Di) Bracken, Toronto, ON
2002 – Elizabeth Lindner, Calgary, AB
2001 – Ron Bartlett, Hamilton, ON
2000 – Bette Yetman, Dartmouth, NS
1999 – Dr. Zane Cohen, Chief of Surgery, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, ON

NSWOC Recognition Award

The NSWOC of the Year Award is awarded to an NSWOC nurse who has supported ostomates via involvement with his/her local chapter’s activities and national functions. The award also enables Ostomy Canada Society members to acknowledge their NSWOC nurse for their support and services. Previous recipients are:

2022 – Denise Nicholson, Moncton, NB and Sheryl Walker, Regina, SK
2019 – Joan Peddle, Moncton, NB
2018 – Dr. Kevin Woo, Toronto, ON
2016 – Marg James, St John, NB
2014 – Andrea (Andy) Manson, New Westminster, BC
2012 – Gail Creelman, Halifax, NS
2010 – Heather Orsted, Calgary, AB
2009 – Teri-Anne Schroeder, Saskatoon, SK
2008—Joy Baetz, Oshawa, ON
2007—Jean Grignon Sudbury, ON
2006—Lorraine Sinclair, Calgary AB
2004—Delilah Guy, Gander NL
2003—Susan Hunter, Regina SK
2002—Ruth Kenney, Dartmouth NS
2001—Donna Weiss, Edmonton AB
2000—Shirley McSavaney, Nepean ON
1999—Dianne Garde, Mississauga ON

Unsung Heroes Award

The Unsung Hero/Heroes Awards are presented to those individuals who always work behind the scenes in any successful organization. They are also dedicated to the Ostomy Canada Society, but do not seek the limelight. In fact, they prefer to do their work and give their support in an unobtrusive manner.

2022 Blanca Baquero, Annapolis Valley, NS; Betty Robinson, Comox Valley, BC; Deb Rooney, Vancouver, BC; Jo-Ann Trembley, Ottawa, ON.

For previous years please contact

Renaissance Great Comebacks Awards – No longer Exists (2019)

This award was designed to recognize persons with an ostomy who:
• Has made significant achievements in his/her life following their ostomy surgery.
• Has made a meaningful contribution to the community or to others around them.
• Has contributed to eliminating prejudicial misconceptions relating to people with ostomies, in society.

This Award was previously sponsored by ConvaTec.

2016 – Manda Ann Roddick, Victoria, BC
2015 – Jacques Beadreault, Quebec, PQ
2014 – Paula Timm, Calgary, AB
2013 – Paul Riome, Saskatoon, SK
2012 – Mary Penner, Toronto, ON
2011 – Carly Lindsay, Waterford, ON
2010 – Mike Woolridge, Enfield, NS
2009 – Doug Graham, Ottawa, ON
2008 – Judy Steeves, Fredericton, NB
2007 – Debra Rooney, Vancouver, BC
2006 – Minerva Holton, Moncton, NB
2005 – Judy Woods, Fredericton, NB
2004 – Sheelah Zapf, Edmonton, AB
2003 – Dr. Kevin McHugh, Hamilton, ON
2002 – David Metcalfe, Victoria, BC
2001 – Bette Yetman, Dartmouth, NS
2000 – Poldi Olafson, Red Deer, AB
1999 – Patricia Cimmeck, Calgary, AB